Political science students named Truman Scholars

April 15, 2022

Congratulations to James H. Elliott II GS’23 and Cameron Adkins CC’23 on being named Truman Scholars! 

The Truman Scholarship is the premier graduate scholarship for aspiring public service leaders in the United States and this year’s 58 new Truman Scholars were selected from 705 candidates nominated by 275 colleges and universities, with Columbia University recognized as one of six institutions with multiple named scholars.

Mr. Elliott majors in African American and African diaspora studies, with a special concentration in political science. Mr. Adkins is a political science and psychology major.

Established by Congress in 1975 as the living memorial to President Harry S. Truman and a national monument to public service, the Truman Scholarship carries the legacy of President Truman by supporting and inspiring the next generation of public service leaders. Truman Scholars demonstrate outstanding leadership potential, a commitment to a career in government or the nonprofit sector, and academic excellence. Each Truman Scholar receives funding for graduate studies, leadership training, career counseling, and special internship and fellowship opportunities within the federal government. Read more about this year’s competition and the full press release here.

Please click here to learn more about Columbia's Truman Scholars and their work.