Diversity and Equity Committee

Who We Are

The Department of Political Science established the faculty Diversity Committee to identify targets of opportunity to recruit faculty under a university provost's initiative. In April 2018, the committee was expanded to include two graduate student representatives and to address issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion in the graduate student body as well. On April 9, 2018, the committee was renamed the Diversity and Equity Committee.

Like the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, the Department of Political Science believes that "diversity in the graduate student body enhances the intellectual experience and achievements of the entire academic community." The department also defines diversity broadly, encompassing considerations of race, ethnicity, culture, socioeconomic background, family history of post-baccalaureate opportunity, gender, sexual orientation, disability, life experience, and veteran status.

Committee Membership


Page Fortna
Timothy Frye
Kimuli Kasara
Vicky Murillo

Graduate Students

Viviana Rivera-Burgos
Julia Rubio

What We Do

The Diversity and Equity Committee performs the following roles and activities:

  • Seeks and disseminates information about the experiences of women and members of underrepresented minority groups in the department;
  • Contributes to the recruitment of graduate students from underrepresented groups to the department by hosting an event for admitted students and by providing prospective students information about resources available to them;  
  • Invites outside speakers to share academic research on the origins of and potential remedies to unequal access to higher education and academic careers; 
  • Collects and disseminates information on programs giving faculty and students the opportunity to advise aspiring political scientists from underrepresented groups; 
  • Provides information on university resources pertaining to topics such as sexual misconduct and inclusive teaching.