2014 APSA Award Recipients

Congratulations to faculty members who received awards at the 2014 Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association.

Professor Robert Erikson's Statehouse Democracy: Public Opinion and Policy in the American States was recognized with the State Politics and Policy Section's MacJewell Enduring Book Contribution Award, presented every three years to a political science book on the subject of U.S... state politics or policy published at least ten years prior to the award being bestowed that stands as an enduring contribution to the literature. Such books would be those classic works frequently assigned in graduate seminars, typically found on the bookshelves of state politics scholars, and that have been crucial in setting the direction of scholarship since their publication.

Professor Macartan Humphreys, with co-author Alan Jacobs, received one of two Sage Paper Awards, presented by the Qualitative and Multi-Method Research Section, for "Mixing Methods: A Bayesian Unification of Qualitative and Quantitative Approaches." The Award honors Sara and George McCune, who founded and sustained Sage Publications as a leading publisher of social science methodology--including very centrally qualitative methods. This award is given to a paper presented at the previous year's Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association.

With co-authors Guy Grossman and Gabriella Sacramone-Lutz, Professor Humphreys also received the Information Technology and Politics Section's best paper award for "'I wld like u WMP to extend electricity 2 our village' : On Information Technology and Interest Articulation."

Professor Ira Katznelsonreceived one of two APSA Woodrow Wilson Foundation Awards honoring the best book on government, politics, or international affairs for Fear Itself: The New Deal and the Origins of Our Time.

Professor Katznelson's book also was recognized with one of two J. David Greenstone Book Prizes, presented by the Politics and History Section.

Professor M. Victoria Murillo, with Ernesto F. Calvo, is the inaugural winner of the Comparative Political Studies Editorial Board Best Paper prize for "When Parties Meet Voters: Assessing Political Linkages through Partisan Networks and Distributive Expectations in Argentina and Chile."

Professor Justin Phillips, with co-author Thad Kousser, received the 2014 Virginia Gray Best Book Award for The Power of American Governors: Winning on Budget and Losing on Policy. The Virginia Gray Best Book Award is given by the State Politics and Policy Section of the American Political Science Association annually for the best political science book published on the subject of U.S. state politics or policy in the preceding three calendar years.