Fields of Study

The department is organized into four major subfields: American politics, comparative politics, international relations, and political theory. Ph.D. candidates select a major and minor field from among these, or they may minor in methodology, political economic theory, economics, law, or a special minor. For details about qualifying in minor fields, see "Comprehensive Examination in Subjects" in the M.Phil. requirements section of this site.